• NOW OPEN! Masks & Distancing Required
  • Mon-Sat 9am-5:30pm  Sunday 10am-5pm
7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037

Set My Heart to Five

Simon Stephenson

Warwick’s presents
Simon Stephenson
in conversation with Jeniffer Thompson

Set My Heart to Five

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 - 4:00pm PDT

Set My Heart to Five
buy the book

This is a free event on Facebook Live.

Pre-order Set My Heart to Five now!

On Tuesday, September 22nd at 4:00pm PDT Warwick's will host Simon Stephenson as he discusses his new book, Set My Heart to Five, in conversation with Jeniffer Thompson. Simon Stephenson is a former Pixar screenwriter based in Los Angeles.

For fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman, this is a delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a human-like bot named Jared, whose emotional awakening leads him on an unforgettable quest for connection, belonging and possibly even true love.

Jared works as a dentist in small town Michigan. His life is totally normal, except for one thing. He is a bot, engineered with human DNA to look and act like a real person.

One day at a screening of classic movie, Jared feels a strange sensation around his eyes. Everyone knows that bots can't feel emotions, but as the theater lights come on, Jared could swear he's crying. Confused, he decides to watch more old movies to figure out what's happening. The process leads to an emotional awakening that upends his existence. Jared, it turns out, can feel.

Overcome with a full range of emotions, and facing an imminent reset, Jared heads west, determined to forge real connections. He yearns to find his mother, the programmer who created him. He dreams of writing a screenplay that will change the world. Along the way he might even fall in love. But a bot with feelings is a dangerous proposition, and Jared's new life could come to an end before it truly begins.

Set My Heart to Five is a profound exploration of what makes us human, and a love letter to outsiders everywhere.

Jeniffer Thompson is Creative Director and co-founder of the San Diego Writers Festival. She is an author branding expert, digital marketing strategist, and host of The Premise podcast. She is an author and speaker who delivers strategy-rich content and actionable tools that educate and empower authors. She is the founder and principal at Monkey C Media, an award-winning design firm specializing in book packaging, author websites, and digital marketing strategies.

Set My Heart to Five Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335551207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Please contact store to confirm availability)
Published: Hanover Square Press - September 1st, 2020