OPEN MON-SAT 9AM-6PM | SUN 10AM-5:30PM

 (858) 454-0347

American Daughters

Piper Huguley

Warwick’s presents
Piper Huguley
in conversation with Rachel McMillan

American Daughters

Thursday, April 4, 2024 - 4:00pm PDT

American Daughters
buy the book

This is a free Zoom event. Register at the link below and please consider purchasing AMERICAN DAUGHTERS through Warwick's to support the author and our event series.

This is a free event on Zoom. REGISTER HERE!

On Thursday, April 4th at 4:00pm PDT Warwick's will host Piper Huguley as she discusses her new book, American Daughters, in conversation with Rachel McMillan. Piper G. Huguley’s biographical historical fiction, By Her Own Design: a novel of Ann Lowe, Fashion Designer to the Social Register tells the inspiring story of the Black fashion designer of Jackie Kennedy’s wedding dress. By Her Own Design was a Booklist top 100 Editor’s Choice selection for 2022, was named one of the top 100 books of 2022 in Canada by the Globe and Mail newspaper and was selected as the historical fiction winner for 2022 by the American Library Association’s Reading Council. American Daughters is the story of the decades-long interracial friendship between Alice Roosevelt and Portia Washington, the rebel teenage daughters of President Theodore Roosevelt and Booker T. Washington, respectively. She is a literature professor at Clark-Atlanta University and blogs about the history behind her novels at http://piperhuguley.com. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia with her husband and son.

In the vein of America's First Daughter, Piper Huguley's historical novel delves into the remarkable friendship of Portia Washington and Alice Roosevelt, the daughters of educator Booker T. Washington and President Teddy Roosevelt.

At the turn of the twentieth century, in a time of great change, two women--separated by societal status and culture but bound by their expected roles as the daughters of famed statesmen--forged a lifelong friendship.

Portia Washington's father Booker T. Washington was formerly enslaved and spent his life championing the empowerment of Black Americans through his school, known popularly as Tuskegee Institute, as well as his political connections. Dedicated to her father's values, Portia contributed by teaching and performing spirituals and classical music. But a marriage to a controlling and jealous husband made fulfilling her dreams much more difficult.

When Theodore Roosevelt assumed the presidency, his eldest daughter Alice Roosevelt joined him in the White House. To try to win her father's approval, she eagerly jumped in to help him succeed, but Alice's political savvy and nonconformist behavior alienated as well as intrigued his opponents and allies. When she married a congressman, she carved out her own agendas and continued espousing women's rights and progressive causes.

Brought together in the wake of their fathers' friendship, these bright and fascinating women helped each other struggle through marriages, pregnancies, and political upheaval, supporting each other throughout their lives.

A provocative historical novel and revealing portrait, Piper Huguley's American Daughters vividly brings to life two passionate and vital women who nurtured a friendship that transcended politics and race over a century ago.

Rachel McMillan is the author of The London Restoration, The Mozart Code, the Herringford and Watts mysteries, the Van Buren and DeLuca mysteries, and the Three Quarter Time series of contemporary Viennese romances. She is also the author of Dream, Plan, Go: A Travel Guide to Inspire Independent Adventure. Rachel lives in Toronto, Canada and is always reading.

American Daughters: A Novel By Piper Huguley Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063273702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 2nd, 2024