Open Mon-Sat 9am-6pm Sun 10am-5:30pm
Please visit our General Info page for our mask policy.

125th Anniversary Badge
 (858) 454-0347

Couple Found Slain

Mikita Brottman

Warwick’s presents
Mikita Brottman
in conversation with Sabine Heinlein

Couple Found Slain

Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - 4:00pm PDT

Couple Found Slain
buy the book

This is a free event on Facebook Live.

On Wednesday, July 14th at 4:00pm PDT Warwick's will host Mikita Brottman as she discusses her new book, Couple Found Slain: After a Family Murder, in conversation with Sabine Heinlein. Mikita Brottman, PhD, is an Oxford-educated scholar and psychoanalyst and the author of several previous books, including An Unexplained Death, The Great Grisby, and The Maximum Security Book Club. She is a professor of humanities at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore.

Critically acclaimed author and psychoanalyst Mikita Brottman offers literary true crime writing at its best, taking us into the life of a murderer after his conviction - when most stories end but the defendant's life goes on.

On February 21, 1992, 22-year-old Brian Bechtold walked into a police station in Port St. Joe, Florida and confessed that he'd shot and killed his parents in their family home in Silver Spring, Maryland. He said he'd been possessed by the devil. He was eventually diagnosed with schizophrenia and ruled "not criminally responsible" for the murders on grounds of insanity.

But after the trial, where do the criminally insane go? Brottman reveals Brian's inner life leading up to the murder, as well as his complicated afterlife in a maximum security psychiatric hospital, where he is neither imprisoned nor free. During his 27 years at the hospital, Brian has tried to escape and been shot by police, and has witnessed three patient-on-patient murders. He's experienced the drugging of patients beyond recognition, a sadistic system of rewards and punishments, and the short-lived reign of a crazed psychiatrist-turned-stalker.

In the tradition of One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, Couple Found Slain is an insider's account of life in the underworld of forensic psych wards in America and the forgotten lives of those held there, often indefinitely.

Sabine Heinlein is an artist and writer based in New York City. She is the author of the narrative nonfiction books Among Murderers: Life After Prison and The Orphan Zoo. Her work can be found in German, American, and British publications, among them The New York Times, The Guardian, Psychology Today, Poets & Writers, Pacific Standard Magazine, Longreads and Die Zeit. Heinlein has received a Pushcart Prize, a Margolis Award, a Sidney Gross Award for Investigative Reporting, and fellowships from Yaddo, MacDowell, Hambidge, and the New York Foundation for the Arts. She has spoken at New York University, New York Public Library, the New School, University of East Anglia, and Maryland Institute College of Art.

Couple Found Slain: After a Family Murder Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250757449
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 6th, 2021