• Mon - Sat 9 - 6
  • Sun 10 - 5:30
7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037

The Light After the War

Anita Abriel

Warwick’s presents
Anita Abriel

The Light After the War

Tuesday, February 4, 2020 - 7:30pm

Warwick's
7812 Girard Ave
La Jolla, CA 92037
The Light After the War

On Tuesday, February 4th at 7:30pm Warwick's will host Anita Abriel, in conversation with Susan Meissner, as she discusses and signs her new book, The Light After the War. Anita Abriel was born in Sydney, Australia. She received a BA in English Literature with a minor in Creative Writing from Bard College, and attended UC Berkeley’s Masters in Creative Writing program. She lives in California with her family. Susan Meissner is a USA Today bestselling author of historical fiction with more than half a million books in print in fifteen languages. She is an author, speaker and writing workshop leader with a background in community journalism. Her novels include As Bright as Heaven, Secrets of a Charmed Life, and A Fall of Marigolds. A California native, she attended Point Loma Nazarene University and is also a writing workshop volunteer for Words Alive, a San Diego non-profit dedicated to helping at-risk youth foster a love for reading and writing. This event is free and open to the public. Reserved Seating is available when the book is pre-ordered from Warwick's for the event. Only books purchased from Warwick's will be signed. Please call the Warwick's Book Dept. (858) 454-0347 for details.

Inspired by an incredible true story of two Jewish friends who survived the Holocaust, The Light After the War is a sweeping novel of love and friendship that spans World War II from Budapest to Austria and the postwar years from Naples to Caracas, perfect for fans of The German Girl and We Were the Lucky Ones.

It is 1946 when Vera Frankel and her best friend Edith Ban arrive in Naples. Refugees from Hungary, they managed to escape from a train headed for Auschwitz and spent the rest of the war hiding on an Austrian farm. Now, the two young women must start new lives abroad. Armed with a letter of recommendation from an American officer, Vera finds work at the United States embassy where she falls in love with Captain Anton Wight.

But as Vera and Edith grapple with the aftermath of the war, so too does Anton, and when he suddenly disappears, Vera is forced to change course. Their quest for a better life takes Vera and Edith from Naples to Ellis Island to Caracas as they start careers, reunite with old friends, and rebuild their lives after terrible loss.

Moving, evocative, and compelling, this timely tale of true friendship, love, and survival will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

The Light After the War: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982122973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 4th, 2020