• NOW OPEN! Masks & Distancing Required
  • Mon-Sat 9am-6pm Sun 10am-5:30pm
7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037

Girls with Bright Futures

Tracy Dobmeier and Wendy Katzman

Warwick’s presents
Tracy Dobmeier and Wendy Katzman
in conversation with Amy Poeppel

Girls with Bright Futures

Wednesday, February 24, 2021 - 4:00pm PST

Girls with Bright Futures
buy the book

Girls with Bright Futures is available now! We'll include an autographed bookplate, while supplies last.

This is a free virtual event on Facebook Live.

On Wednesday, February 24th at 4:00pm PST Warwick's will host Tracy Dobmeier and Wendy Katzman, in conversation with Amy Poeppel, as they discusses their new book, Girls with Bright Futures. Tracy Dobmeier and Wendy Katzman have been great friends for over 20 years. Their friendship has sustained them through the ups and downs of raising kids, juggling careers, and creating new family traditions. Girls with Bright Futures is their debut novel. Between the two of them, they have undergraduate degrees from Princeton University and the University of Michigan, a law degree from UC Berkeley, careers in marketing, non-profit leadership and biotechnology law, two husbands, and four kids (three of whom have survived the college admissions process without a single parent landing in jail).

The perfect book club read with a suspenseful bite—when it comes to their daughters’ future, three women are about to discover if there are any lines not worth crossing...

College admissions season at Seattle’s Elliott Bay Academy is marked by glowing acceptances from top-tier institutions and students as impressive as their parents are ambitious. But when Stanford alerts the school it’s allotting only one spot to EBA for their incoming class, three mothers discover the competition is more cutthroat than they could have imagined.

Tech giant Alicia turns to her fortune and status to fight for her reluctant daughter’s place at the top. Kelly, a Stanford alum, leverages her PTA influence and insider knowledge to bulldoze the path for her high-strung daughter. And Maren makes three: single, broke, and ill-equipped to battle the elite school community aligning to bring her superstar down.

That’s when, days before applications are due, one of the girls suffers a near-fatal accident, one that doesn’t appear to be an accident at all.

As the community spirals out of control, three women will have to decide what lines they’re willing to cross to secure their daughters’ futures… and keep buried the secrets that threaten to destroy far more than just college dreams.

For readers of The Gifted School, Girls with Bright Futures combines the college admissions scandal with the edge of Big Little Lies, the snark of Class Mom, and the schadenfreude of watching the elite implode.

Amy Poeppel is the author of the novels Musical Chairs, Small Admissions, and Limelight. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, LitHub, The Rumpus, Belladonna Comedy, and Working Mother. She and her husband have three sons and split their time between Kent, Connecticut, New York City, and Frankfurt, Germany.

Girls with Bright Futures Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728216461
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - February 2nd, 2021