Open Mon-Sat 9am-6pm Sun 10am-5:30pm
Please visit our General Info page for our mask policy.

125th Anniversary Badge
 (858) 454-0347

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel (Paperback)

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships From Store in 3-5 Business Days


Description


Finalist for the Macavity and Lefty Award

When bill collectors come calling, Rick Cahill desperately needs work

Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that’s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department.

Brianne Colton, a beautiful country singer, is convinced her estranged husband’s suicide was really murder. Rick is unconvinced, but the mortgage has to be paid. Each new piece of evidence convinces him she’s right. He breaks his number one rule and falls for Brianne even, as he begins to question her motives.

As Moretti cinches the vise tighter, with Rick unable to trust the FBI, evil forces emerge from the shadows who will do anything, including torture and murder, to stop Rick from uncovering the truth.

Hard-edged suspense with a heart for fans of Robert Crais and Michael Connelly

While all of the novels in the Rick Cahill PI Crime Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Yesterday’s Echo
Night Tremors
Dark Fissures
Blood Truth
Wrong Light
Lost Tomorrows
Blind Vigil
Last Redemption
(coming November 2021)

About the Author


Matt Coyle is the best-selling author of the Rick Cahill PI Crime Series. Dark Fissures is the third in the series and was a finalist in both the Lefty and Macavity Awards. His novels have won the Anthony, the Lefty, and the San Diego Book Award, and have been nominated for numerous Anthony, Macavity, Shamus, and Lefty Awards. Matt is a graduate of UC Santa Barbara and lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.

Praise For…


Dark Fissures is a roller coaster ride through the streets of San Diego. Tightly plotted with memorable characters. An outstanding read!” —C. J. Box, New York Times best-selling author

“Matt Coyle's Dark Fissures is a meticulously plotted detective novel with such fast and continuous action that neither the cars nor the gun barrels ever cool down.”—Thomas Perry, Edgar Award-winning author



“I think I'm falling for Rick Cahill. He's the best kind of down-on-his-luck detective: hard-boiled yet vulnerable; gritty but gallant; somewhat of a screw-up but noble to the core; droll yet all heart. I'll follow him anywhere.” —Kristi Belcamino, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity Award nominee



“The deck is stacked against Cahill, but he comes up trumps by the end of this satisfying hard-boiled adventure.” —Publishers Weekly



“Those who enjoy gritty crime dramas will like Cahill and appreciate Coyle’s writing style. Though this is the third in the series, Dark Fissures is a great place to start.” —Booklist



“If you like tight, fast, dark thrillers, you'll do well to follow Coyle into the dark fissure that runs through Cahill's soul.” —Suspense Magazine



Praise for the Rick Cahill PI Crime Series

“Coyle knows the secret: digging into a crime means digging into the past. Sometimes it’s messy, sometimes it’s dangerous—always it’s entertaining.” —Michael Connelly, New York Times best-selling author



“Matt Coyle's protagonist, Rick Cahill, is haunted both by the sins of his father and by his own mistakes—but he's driven to find the truth, no matter where it takes him, and that's what makes this story so compelling.” —Steve Hamilton, New York Times best-selling author



Product Details
ISBN: 9781608092680
ISBN-10: 1608092682
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: November 21st, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Rick Cahill Series