OPEN MON-SAT 9AM-6PM | SUN 10AM-5:30PM

Warwick's wins PW Bookstore of the Year 2024

 (858) 454-0347

The Lipstick Bureau: A Novel Inspired by a Real-Life Female Spy (Hardcover)

The Lipstick Bureau: A Novel Inspired by a Real-Life Female Spy By Michelle Gable Cover Image
$28.99
Usually Ships From Store in 3-5 Business Days

Description


For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Inspired by a real-life female spy, a novel about a woman challenging convention and boundaries to help win a war, no matter the cost.


"A gripping, fascinating read." --Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan

1944, Rome. Newlywed Niki Novotn is recruited by a new American spy agency to establish a secret branch in Italy's capital. One of the OSS's few female operatives abroad and multilingual, she's tasked with crafting fake stories and distributing propaganda to lower the morale of enemy soldiers.

Despite limited resources, Niki and a scrappy team of artists, forgers and others--now nicknamed The Lipstick Bureau--find success, forming a bond amid the cobblestoned streets and storied villas of the newly liberated city. But her work is also a way to escape devastating truths about the family she left behind in Czechoslovakia and a future with her controlling American husband.

As the war drags on and the pressure intensifies, Niki begins to question the rules she's been instructed to follow, and a colleague unexpectedly captures her heart. But one step out of line, one mistake, could mean life or death...

Don't miss Michelle Gable's stylish new novel, The Beautiful People, set among Palm Beach's dazzling inner circle in the sunny 1960s.

More from Michelle Gable:

  • The Bookseller's Secret
  • The Beautiful People



Product Details
ISBN: 9781525804908
ISBN-10: 1525804901
Publisher: Graydon House
Publication Date: December 27th, 2022
Pages: 448
Language: English