• Mon - Sat 9 - 6
  • Sun 10 - 5:30
7812 Girard Ave, La Jolla, CA 92037

The Escape Room: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Escape Room: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"Gripping and unforgettable." —Harlan Coben

"One of my favorite books of the year." —Lee Child

"Riveting." —Publishers Weekly

“Fans of JP Delaney and Ruth Ware will want to be right in [the escape room] with them.”Booklist

“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you'll be caught in your own escape room—the only key to freedom is turning the last page!” Kirkus Reviews (starred)

In Megan Goldin's unforgettable debut, The Escape Room, four young Wall Street rising stars discover the price of ambition when an escape room challenge turns into a lethal game of revenge.

Welcome to the escape room. Your goal is simple. Get out alive.

In the lucrative world of finance, Vincent, Jules, Sylvie, and Sam are at the top of their game. They’ve mastered the art of the deal and celebrate their success in style—but a life of extreme luxury always comes at a cost.

Invited to participate in an escape room as a team-building exercise, the ferociously competitive co-workers crowd into the elevator of a high rise building, eager to prove themselves. But when the lights go off and the doors stay shut, it quickly becomes clear that this is no ordinary competition: they’re caught in a dangerous game of survival.

Trapped in the dark, the colleagues must put aside their bitter rivalries and work together to solve cryptic clues to break free. But as the game begins to reveal the team’s darkest secrets, they realize there’s a price to be paid for the terrible deeds they committed in their ruthless climb up the corporate ladder. As tempers fray, and the clues turn deadly, they must solve one final chilling puzzle: which one of them will kill in order to survive?

About the Author


MEGAN GOLDIN worked as a correspondent for Reuters and other media outlets where she covered war, peace, international terrorism and financial meltdowns in the Middle East and Asia. She is now based in Melbourne, Australia where she raises three sons and is a foster mum to Labrador puppies learning to be guide dogs. THE ESCAPE ROOM is her debut novel.

Praise For…


Praise for The Escape Room:

“There is clearly no happy ending likely for the four colleagues trapped inside [the escape room]; but fans of JP Delany and Ruth Ware will want to be right in there with them…a nail-biting tale of a corporate team-building exercise gone horribly wrong.” —Booklist

“Cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you'll be caught in your own escape room—the only key to freedom is turning the last page!” —Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“Riveting…[a] tale of greed and revenge set on Wall Street…Thriller fans will eagerly turn the pages to see what happens next.” —Publishers Weekly

"High wire tension from the first moment to the last. Four ruthless people locked in a deadly game where victory means survival. Gripping and unforgettable!" —Harlan Coben

"Fantastic. One of my favorite books of the year." —Lee Child

"Amazing...a thriller set in an elevator [that explores] the vast territory of people's worst natures. A nightmarish look inside ourselves. Simply riveting." —Louise Penny

“A sharp, slick, utterly engrossing thriller. This knockout debut hooked me from the first page and didn’t let go.” —Cristina Alger, USA Today bestselling author of The Banker’s Wife

“Smart and compelling... I devoured this novel!” —Karen Cleveland, bestselling author of Need to Know

Featured On:
PureWow's "Best Beach Reads of the Summer"
BookBub's "17 of the Best Summer Books for your Beach Bag"
Women.com's "15 Most Anticipated Books of Summer by Women"
New York Post's "25 Best Beach Reads of 2019"
Refinery29's "Best Summer Thrillers 2019"



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250219657
ISBN-10: 1250219655
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: July 30th, 2019
Pages: 368