OPEN MON-SAT 9AM-6PM | SUN 10AM-5:30PM

 (858) 454-0347

The Ship Beyond Time (Paperback)

The Ship Beyond Time By Heidi Heilig Cover Image
$9.99
Have a question? Please let us know and we will reply as soon as we can. Thanks!

Description


The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere.

“Fresh and exciting . . . truly the perfect playground for adventure.”—NPR.org

“Thrilling.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her future lies bright before her—until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves.

Desperate to change her fate, Nix sails her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems. Not even her relationship with Kash: best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire.

Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. At the center of this adventure are extraordinary, complicated, and multicultural characters who leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds.

This sequel—and conclusion—to The Girl from Everywhere includes five black-and-white maps of historical and mythical locations. Fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sabaa Tahir, and Outlander will be swept away.

About the Author


Heidi Heilig is the author of The Girl from Everywhere, which was an Indie Next Pick and was also named a Best Book of the Year by NPR; its sequel, The Ship Beyond Time; and the Shadow Players trilogy, For a Muse of Fire, A Kingdom for a Stage, and On This Unworthy Scaffold. Heidi Heilig holds an MFA from New York University in musical theater writing, and she’s written the book and lyrics for several shows. She grew up in Hawaii, where she rode horses and raised peacocks. Her favorite thing, outside of writing, is travel, and she has haggled for rugs in Morocco, hiked the trails of the Ko‘olau Valley, and huddled in a tent in Africa. Heidi Heilig lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family.

Praise For…


“With her deft touch, Heilig re-immersed me in her world of maps and out-of-time misfits in an adventure with greater stakes, more time-travel tricks and a love story that defies the laws of the universe itself. Heilig could give Dr. Who a run for his money.” — Alwyn Hamilton, author of Rebel of the Sands

“This artfully constructed sequel to The Girl from Everywhere does not disappoint, with even more romance and adventure than in the first installment....[A] thrilling, layered maritime fantasy...Recommend both titles to fans of Alexandra Bracken’s “Passenger” books and Rick Riordan’s mythology-inspired fiction.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“[A] genre-busting series...Nix’s narrative voice reveals a complicated protagonist who moves between trenchant pragmatism and poetic flights with fluidity. ...this ingeniously plotted time twister deepens the narrative, sharpens characterization, and raises the stakes, leaving readers...wanting more.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Time traveling Nix Song, 16, is back, and fans of The Girl from Everywhere will be delighted. ...well worth adding to collections that have the first title.” — Booklist

“Time travel is a challenging trope to reinvent in a way that feels fresh and exciting, and Heilig succeeds with a flourish. ...the premise of these books is truly the perfect playground for adventure.” — NPR.org



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062380791
ISBN-10: 0062380796
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: February 27th, 2018
Pages: 480
Language: English